Warner’s Safe Cure in Richmond

Richmond Times - May 6, 1902

 When I first started collecting Warner’s Safe Cures back in the mid-1970’s, I was a member of the Richmond Area Bottle Collectors Association.  I stopped actively collecting in the 1980’s while I was in college and graduate school, but resumed in the mid-1990’s when the internet became available on a widespread basis. Since that time, I have added substantially to my Warner’s Safe Cure collection and knowledge about this niche of patent medicine history generally and H. H. Warner, specifically. This blog represents my ongoing effort to research and share information about Mr. Warner and his famous patent medicines.

Although I left the Richmond club in the late 1970’s, I had to opportunity to visit again last night and present a program that I call “Hulbert Harrington Warner: A ‘Safe Cure’ Empire.” The Richmond club was most gracious to invite me to talk about one of my great passions.

Hulbert Harrington Warner: A "Safe Cure" Empire

When I was digging in Richmond in the 1970’s, I don’t ever remember seeing or hearing about a Warner’s Safe Cure being dug. I simply assumed that they never made their way that far south. I was mistaken. The above excerpt from the Richmond Times shows that Warner’s Safe Cure was marketed in Richmond. Indeed, at last night’s meeting, several folks mentioned that examples of Kidney & Liver Cures had been dug in Richmond. This represents a confluence of two of my favorite things: Richmond and Warner’s Safe Cure!

Leave a Reply

