Warner’s Safe Cure: Wikipedia

For those of you who don’t know, Wikipedia had become somewhat of an online phenomenon as a source of information about people, places and things. The interesting thing about it is that you can log on and supplement, revise or update a particular article. It’s a fascinating notion, but subject to substantial inaccuracies or biases depending on the point of view of the author or those who revise the article. My friends in academia shudder when the word Wikipedia is mentioned, because some unenterprising students cite to it as primary authority, which it most certainly is not.

With that caveat, I had occasion to look up our favorite 19th Century entrepeneur, good ole Hulbert Harrington Warner and was dismayed to find a very cursory and incomplete summary of his historical significance. I decided that would not do, so with liberal reliance on Jack Stecher’s “H. H. Warner: World Renowned Patent Medicine King Biographical Sketch” and Edward Atwater’s “Hulbert Harrington Warner and the Perfect Ptich,” I composed an improved entry and posted it. I left the original entry at the bottom (last two paragraphs of the article), because I did not feel it was my place to delete it. It will also give you a basis for comparison.

I had wanted to post a picture of H. H. Warner to accompany the article, but Wikipedia’s requirements for attribution and source are so complex that I gave up even though I am certain the the engraving I use on this blog is well within the public domain. If anyone can navigate Wikipedia’s requirements, let me know and I am happy to pass along the photo to be included. If fact, I will add it to this post. I included the link to the Wikipedia article above, but if that link is not working, it can be found at: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hulbert_Harrington_Warner.

Leave a Reply

