Hooked on Warner’s

seeliger-warner-1.jpgseeliger-warner-2.jpgIn case you’re asking, “Who is this guy and where did he come up with this idea for a blog?”, let me introduce myself. My name is Steve Jackson and I have been collecting Warner’s Safe Cures for over 30 years. My interest in collecting Warner’s can be traced back to the first time I laid eyes on a book published by Mike Seeliger called “H. H. Warner: His Company & His Bottles” (1974). At the time, I was a member of the Richmond Area Bottle Collectors Association in Richmond, Virginia. I had just recently taken up bottle collecting and was trying to find an area of specialization.

At one of the RABCA meetings, I picked up a copy of Mike’s book and the rest was history. Although Mike’s book was not the first to include Warner’s Safe bottles, he was the first to devote an entire book to them. The book was simple with line drawings of the bottles, rather than photographs. If you have seen a copy of this book (which is now out of print), you know what I mean. I had seen the ubiquitous Warner’s Safe Kidney & Liver Cure, but had no idea that so many other variations existed including those from exotic places like Pressburg, Frankfurt, London, Melbourne and Dundein. Although funds were scarce (as I was a teenager at the time), I decided to collect as many of the variants in Mike’s book as possible and have been doing so ever since. Because there was no Internet or World Wide Web (Al Gore hadn’t invented it yet), I actually had to write to collectors who had foreign Warner’s for sale.

In the years since then, I have developed a pretty good base of knowledge about the various types of Warner’s, although I am always amazed that I learn something new all the time. I’d say I’m hooked for life.

3 thoughts on “Hooked on Warner’s

  1. I realy enjoyed your blog, Rochester NY was the heart of HH Warners empire, only now there are very few things in the area that show his existance besides his bottles. The Safe Cure Building still stands with his initials still in the architecture. His mansion and observatiry replaced with the Rochester Museum and Science center and unsure of the observatory, only a few photos show the structures now long gone. Looking at all the Warner Safe products I get a real feel for how huge Harringtons empire was. I was fortunate to locate one of Seeglers printings and was amazed how much work was put into it being pre-computer. I’m continually discovering more and more tidbits of the man ahd his products which get me further and further hooked!
    Thanks
    there use to be a website divoted to HH warner and his bottles, only it is now unreadable. Sad, I use to visit it a lot when it was going.

  2. Thanks Kevin,

    I have had a lot of fun putting it together and welcome any suggested topics, photos, or other tidbits you discover. It is too bad that Warner’s mansion and the observatory were leveled. Glad you got one of Mike’s books. You rarely see them available any more. The website that you mentioned belonged to Mark McDonald and has been inactive for a number of years. It inspired me to start this blog and keep the tradition going. Best regards.

  3. I have a couple of pictures I can send you of the Warner Mansion, one in the early years, and one later when it started falling in disrepair (when it was the Seneca Club). I cannot attach them in your comments section but can e-mail you them. Send me your e-mail and I’ll send them off to you.

Leave a Reply

